Five Star Awards

Celebrating the involvement of young farmers within their clubs and communities, the SAYFC ‘Five Star Awards’ evening gives thanks to those giving extraordinary effort and dedication. Tickets are now available!

From all necks of the country, the awards showcase the spirit, passion and adaptability of the young farmer’s community, no matter the size or scale of their club or district!

During the Regional Rallies held in July 2023, members completed various tasks to qualify for the final of the 2023 Young Farmer of the Year competition. On Saturday 11th November they will battle it out, before the lucky winner is announced in the evening. Nominations are listed below.




Outstanding Contribution (Supported by RHASS)
An individual who has been a loyal supporter of your Club / District for some time.   This could have been via supporting events, volunteering to be a trainer / judge.


  • Avril Henderson
  • Bill Meston
  • Jane Kennedy


Community Engagement (Supported by Galbraith)
This award will be presented to a Club with active involvement and engagement within their community


  • Bower YFC
  • Callander YFC
  • Stranraer & Rhins YFC


Driving Force (Supported by Johnston & Carmichael)
An individual who encourages and supports your Club to be the best it possibly can be!   They are a positive influence for young members and a true Club ambassador.


  • Jordan Barclay
  • Anne Craig
  • John Forbes


Development Award for Education and Training (Supported by SRUC)
An initiative, club meeting or event held by a Club/ District which benefited members personal development.


  • Aberfeldy JAC
  • Carluke YFC
  • East Aberdeenshire District


Rural Ambassador (Supported by QMS)
Someone who promotes rural life – can be YF related or simply someone doing a good job at promoting rural life whether at events, via social media or something else!


  • Fraser Graham
  • John McCulloch & Wallace Currie
  • Yvonne Kennedy


Safety & Wellbeing Award (Supported by SGN)
An individual or a group of individuals who are helping to drive real change in farm safety.


  • Emma Gray
  • Grant Neilson & Jacalyn Dunlop
  • Ross Jackson


Young Farmer of the Year 2023 (Supported by Royal Bank of Scotland, Galbraith and ATV Services)


  • Ally Brunton (East Fife JAC)
  • Andrew Frank (Udny YFC)
  • Ewan Lambie (Strathearn JAC)
  • Scott Limond (Ayr YFC)
  • Ryan Luckhurst (InverRoss YFC)
  • David Smith (Crossroads YFC)

If you want to come along on the night and support our finalists you can buy tickets for our Awards dinner HERE