North Area Young Farmers Take Centre Stage In Orkney

North Area Young Farmers Take Centre Stage In Orkney

North Area Young Farmers Take Centre Stage In Orkney

Last weekend saw young farmer members from the North Area head to Orkney to show off their speech making and sporting talents.

The curtain was lifted on the North Competitions Weekend on Saturday 4th November at Papdale Primary School, kindly sponsored by Orkney Renewables. The Juniors were first to take to the Stage. The format this year was Chairperson, Speaker and Vote of Thanks. First place was awarded to The Harray Pink Team made up of Zara Johnston as chairperson, Lily Hay as Speaker and Katie Tullock as Vote of Thanks and their chosen topic was ‘Home is where the heart is’ and scored a fantastic 91 out of a possible 100. In Second place was the Harray Green team who spoke about ‘Sibling Rivalry’ their team was made up of Chairperson, Libby Flett. Speaker: Beth Fisher, and Vote of Thanks was Keri Ballentyne their team scored an impressive 80 points. Following in Third place was the team from Bower Young Farmers, Chairperson Danielle Sinclair, Speaker Charlotte Gillon and Vote of Thanks Adelle Swanson, their topic was ‘what has happened to the crisp?’ and scored an excellent 75 points. Also competing was East Mainland made up of Chairperson, Declan Macleod, Speaker Erin Brown and Vote of Thanks Marcus Firth who narrowly missed out on Third place with 74 points whose topic was ‘Get that dog on a lead!’ Best Chairperson outwith winning team went to Libby Flett of Harray Green with 15 points out of a possible 20. Best Speaker outwith winning team went to Beth Fisher of Harray Green with 41 points out of 50. Best Vote of Thanks outwith winning team went to Keri Ballentyne of Harray Green with 16 points out of 20.

The senior teams were next onto the stage, the format this year, mixed panel. With two teams from Bower and two teams from Harray YF competing for the top title. After much deliberation Harray A with Chairperson, Kelsey Harvey and panel members – Campbell Ridland, Aidan Nicolson and Declan Fraser and Harray B Chairperson, Elsa Mcintosh and panel members, Robbie Hewison, Chris Munson and Jack Leitch were placed first equal with 149 out of a possible 180 and coming in third was Bower A Team , chairperson, John Forbes and Panel members – Beth Douglas, William Campbell and Stephen Dunnett with 146 points. Best Chairperson outwith winning team went to John Forbes of Bower with 45 points out of a possible 60. Best Panel Member outwith winning team was awarded to Bower member, Beth Douglas with an impressive 39 points out of 40.

The Junior judges on the day Kelly Coghill, Jane Hunter and Robbie Fraser stated that the standard was exceptional and all the Junior Members should be very proud of themselves. Question Masters;David Delday and Rob Flett also posed some thought provoking questions to the teams.

Our Senior Judges, Emma Grieve, Christina Copland and Margaret Eunson, were also impressed with the standard at Senior Level and thanked them for their discussions. Our Senior Question Master for the day was Kathryn Sclater.

The Sunday Morning saw members meet at Kirkwall Grammar School for a day of sports.

Our hockey referees, Donna Wilson and Karen Brough kindly gave up their time on Sunday morning to come along and help with the competition, there was plenty laughs to be had. Orkney A came out on top followed by Orkney B and in third place Caithness A. East Aberdeenshire member, Ellen Webster stuck out to the referees and was awarded ‘Player of the League’.

The football was kindly refereed by Stevie Cunningham, with Orkney A coming out on top, closely followed by Orkney B and in third place Caithness A.

North Netball was also taking place, Kim McIntosh kindly stepped in last minute to referee. In first place was Orkney 1, second place Orkney 2 and in third Place, Orkney 3.

Thank you to all judges, question masters, timekeepers, spectators, referees, and umpires who gave up their time to support the weekend. Thank you to our Main sponsor, Orkney Renewables and thank you to Northlink Ferries who contributed towards members travel for the weekend.

Junior Speechmaking teams will now go forward to represent the region at the National Competition on Saturday 9th December at Gogarburn RBS. Seniors will attend the National Finals in February.

First Junior Speechmaking team – Harray Pink – Lily Hay, Zara Johnston, Katie Tullock

Second Junior Speechmaking Team – Harray Green – Beth Fisher, Libby Flett, Keri Ballantyne

Third Junior Speechmaking Team – Bower – Adelle Swanson, Danielle Sinclair, Charlotte Gillon

Best Chairperson outwith winning team – Libby Flett


Best Speaker outwith Winning Team Beth Fisher


Best Vote of Thanks outwith winning team Keri Ballentyne

First Equal Senior Speechmaking Team – Robbie Hewison, Jack Leitch, Elsa Mcintosh, Chris Munson

First Equal Senior Speechmaking Team – Declan Fraser, Kelsey Harvey, Aidan Nicolson and Campbell Ridland

Third Senior Speechmaking Team – William Campbell, Beth Douglas, Stephen Dunnett, John Forbes

Best Panel Member outwith winning team – Beth Douglas

Best Chairperson outwith winning team – John Forbes

First Hockey – Orkney A

Second Hockey – Caithness

Third Hockey – Orkney B

Player of the Hockey Tournament – Ellen Webster, East Aberdeenshire

First Football – Orkney A

Second Football Orkney B

Third Football Orkney C

First Netball Orkney 1

Second Netball – Orkney 2

Third Netball Orkney 3