Five Star Awards Celebrate Young Farmers’ Achievements!

Five Star Awards Celebrate Young Farmers’ Achievements!

On Saturday 3rd December SAYFC held their second annual ‘Five Star Awards Dinner’ in the RHASS Pavilion. Where the hard work and achievements of members from across the country were recognized and rightly celebrated. And as was the case with its inaugural year the evening was a great success with Young Farmers, supporters and friends coming from far and wide in appreciation of the efforts of our fantastic list of nominees.

The evening was hosted by National Chair, Lucy Mitchell and National Competitions Chair, Stephen Taylor. As Lucy pointed out in her opening speech, 2022 has been a year of rebuilding and growth for the association with numbers rising from the previous year by 40%! It has been wonderful seeing clubs and members return to pre-pandemic activities and in many cases making an active effort to become more involved in their local communities and donating their time and their passion to a wide number of charitable works.

Here is a list of those who were recognized in this year’s 5 Star Awards


SGN’s Farm Safety Ambassador Award

Brief description of award; An individual or a group of individuals who are helping to drive real change in farm safety.

Final 3 finalists; Brechin JAC, Jillian Kennedy of Aberfeldy JAC & Sally Mair of Turriff JAC

Winner; Sally Mair of Turriff JAC quoting: –

“First of all, I would like to thank Aimee Margrove for my nomination. I would like to give a shout out to all the SAYFC Farm safety mentors. We are all hopefully doing our bit to help raise awareness and change perceptions as to why farm safety is so important. It is something I feel we need to raise as much awareness in rural communities as possible. Statistics are scary and I hope we as farm safety ambassadors can help make a difference from grassroot members upwards to make the difference we need to see within agriculture. I am extremely grateful to receive this award and I hope we can all continue to speak about Farm Safety and see a positive change within the industry.”


Royal Bank of Scotland’s Club Ambassador Award

Brief description of award; An individual who shows great leadership and has been a driving force within their club.

Final 3 finalists; Laura McCulloch of Stranraer & Rhins YFC, Jamie Davidson of Udny JAC and Stuart Walker of Reston JAC

Winner; Laura McCulloch of Stranraer & Rhins YFC quoting:-

“With young farmers having played a very special part in my life since the age of 14, being recognised for the Club Ambassador award means everything to me! I’m lucky to have always had encouragement from my mum and dad, past club members and young farmer friends from my home club at Stranraer and Rhins YFC and have them to thank for this very thoughtful nomination! I look forward to continuing to promote what I regard as the best rural youth organisation in Scotland, from club, to district to national levels and within schools, to inspire future young farmers to enjoy the opportunities that I myself have been lucky enough to experience during my ten years as an SAYFC member!”


Galbraith’s Community Engagement Award

Brief description of award; A club with active involvement and engagement within the community. This award is for a Club.

Final 3 finalists; Stranraer & Rhins YFC, Crossroads YFC, Strathearn JAC

Winner; Strathearn JAC. With Club Chair Ewan Lambie quoting on behalf of the club:-

“As a club we were delighted to hear that we were, not only a finalist, but also the proud recipients of the Community Engagement award. It was a great honour for our club’s hard work to be recognised through receiving this. A special thank you must go to all those who have contributed to building the current success of the club over the years.”


SAC Consulting’s Unsung Hero Award

Brief description of award; A Club member that does great deeds but receives little or no recognition.

 Final 3 finalists; Annabel of Bell Baxter ADS, Michael Rolfe of Lanark YFC and Aimee Margrove of Turriff JAC and Carluke YFC

Winner; Michael Rolfe of Lanark YFC  Quote:-

Winning SAFYC’s unsung hero award at the 5-star awards came as a big surprise as the competition was very strong but to actually be called up as the winner was such a brilliant feeling! To get to the awards night itself was a massive achievement for not only me but the club as well to show how far we have come in a short space of time! Also, without the nomination from Keira (current club secretary) none of it would be possible. Both for the nomination and everything you do for the club we will be forever grateful.”


RHASS’s Outstanding Contribution

 Brief description of award; The “Outstanding Contribution” (Ritchie Trophy), recognises an individual who has been influential and has significantly contributed to making a visible difference within the SAYFC. During their time as a member and lifelong supporter of the Association. The recipient of the Award is decided by SAYFC National Committee and was previously presented during the Royal Highland Show.

Winner; Matthew Struthers (Former National Treasurer and Bell Baxter member) Quote:-

” It was a complete surprise to win the Ritchie trophy for Outstanding Contribution at the Young Farmers 5* awards dinner. I would like to thank SAYFC trustees for arranging a great evening, Jim Warnock, chairman of RHASS for allowing the evening to be held in the Ingliston Pavilion and for allowing SAYFC President, RHASS director and my great friend Bill Arnot to present the award to me. I have had great fun being involved in the Young Farmers, it is a tremendous organization – participation is not difficult – you just need to join in! “


After the Awards were presented, an auction was held and expertly orchestrated by SSS YFC member and up and coming auctioneer Murray Steel before the band struck up and attendees and award winners danced the night away.

The SAYFC would like to thank all those who supported the night and helped to make it one to remember.