A night to remember! #FiveStarAwards

A night to remember! #FiveStarAwards


SAYFC Young Farmers hosted their first ever ‘Five Star Awards’ dinner, auction and ceremony on Saturday 4th December which gave thanks to those giving extraordinary effort and dedication, from all necks of the country. Hosted by SAYFC National Chair, Katie Burns along with National Communications & Marketing Chair, Hamish Logan – the awards night showcased firsthand the spirit, passion and adaptability of the young farmer’s community, no matter the size or scale of their club or district!

Recognised as a year like no other, 2020 to 2021 has highlighted the appreciation of local communities nationally to their local clubs for not only keeping the country fed and watered but for providing their personal time to help the community they live in. A huge amount of amazingly heart-warming work was done by clubs and districts during the pandemic, which SAYFC felt simply could not go unrecognised.


With increased time being spent rurally by not only our members, but their family members and friends also … acknowledging surrounding risks and dangers has been absolutely necessary!  An award was solely created for praising those ‘above and beyond’ members who continued to ensure their groups were fed imperative information. Not an easy task, encouraging our industry to put their own and their nearest and dearest’s safety into thought on a daily basis!

SGN’s Farm Safety Ambassador
Brief description of award; An individual or a group of individuals who are helping to drive real change in farm safety.
Final 3 finalists; Aimee Budge of Shetland YFC, Scott Thomson of Teviotdale YFC & Lucy McClymont of Lower Nithsdale YFC
Winner; Aimee Budge of Shetland YFC quoting: –
“I’m so grateful to have won the farm safety ambassador award. The farm safety mentor role has provided me with very good training which I have been able to share with the young farmers across the North. I want to inspire and ensure future generations of young farmers are more safety aware whilst working on their farms and crofts.
I was very surprised to see the amazing video that Shetland young farmers made, without me knowing! It really showed the appreciation of the work I do for my club. It’s a great club to be a member of and I’m really proud of everyone. Especially the 7 members who made it down to the Agri Affairs conference. We all had an amazing time meeting likeminded young farmers. It was an excellent weekend, thanks to all involved, we’ll definitely be back next year!”


Johnston Carmichael’s Club Ambassador
Brief description of award; An individual who shows great leadership and has been a driving force within their club.
Final 3 finalists; Jillian Kennedy of Aberfeldy YFC, Eve Newlands of Lower Speyside JAC & Annie Bryson of Avondale YFC Winner; Jillian Kennedy of Aberfeldy YFC quoting: –
“Winning the Club Ambassador Award at the weekend was incredible! It was a fantastic night from start to finish that also rounded off the agri and rural affairs conference perfectly. I was very grateful to be nominated and had an excellent night on our table with the other nominees and our sponsor (Johnston Carmichael). Watching the video created by some of the Aberfeldy club members was really touching, we have a great group of members and it was amazing to hear from them, to hear some highlights, and to have then along for support on the night! It was really special to have two Perthshire district winners on the night as well! If I have been able to play a small part in aiding the club and it’s members to pursue the opportunities available through the young farmers organistaion, from club to national level, then I’m happy!”


Galbraith’s Community Engagement Award
Brief description of award; A club with active involvement and engagement within the community. This award is for a Club.
Final 3 finalists; Garioch JAC (North Region), East Kilbride YFC (West Region) & Forfar JAC (East Region)
Winner; Forfar JAC (East Region). With Club Chair Bruce Keillor quoting on behalf of the club: –
“We’re absolutely thrilled to receive this award! As a club we are always happy to help the community, it’s important to have a good relationship with the community as in the future it may lead to new members”


SAC Consulting’s Unsung Hero
Brief description of award; A Club member that does great deeds but receives little or no recognition.
Final 3 finalists; David Mitchell of Biggar YFC, Elspeth Walker of Kinneff JAC & Mhairi Dalgliesh of Bankfoot JAC
Mhairi Dalgliesh of Bankfoot JAC quoting: –
“It was a privilege to win the Unsung Hero Award at SAYFC’s first 5 Star Award’s. There are so many people across the SAYFC network who put a huge amount of effort in to make clubs, Districts and the overall organisation the excellent success it is so I am honoured and delighted to have received this award.”


RHASS’s Outstanding Contribution
Brief description of award; The “Outstanding Contribution” (Ritchie Trophy), recognises an individual who has been influential and has significantly contributed to making a visible difference within the SAYFC. During their time as a member and lifelong supporter of the Association. The recipient of the Award is decided by SAYFC National Committee and was previously presented during the Royal Highland Show
Winner; Sandy Wilkie [Former National SAYFC Chair & President & from East Kilbride YFC] quoting: –
“After more than 50 years of varying degrees of involvement with members of the SAYFC, why have I never learned NOT to underestimate their deviousness? But that’s what happened at the weekend when they had me totally hoodwinked as they presented me with an Outstanding Achievement accolade at their inaugural ‘5 Star Awards’ at Ingliston! Cream on the cake was that it was presented in the magnificent new Members Pavilion during the first ever public event to be held there! And the icing on that cream, was that the presentation was made by Bill Gray, chairman of RHASS! Thank you, members of SAYFC – it is a huge honour of which I am incredibly proud”.

Aimee Budge

Jillian Kennedy

Forfar JAC


Mhairi Dalgliesh


Sandy Wilkie