Murray takes over the reigns of the North Region

Murray takes over the reigns of the North Region



As Gemma Duguid of Bower Young Farmers stood down from her role as Chair of the North Region at the recent Annual General Meeting, Murray Stephen of Turriff & District Young Farmers took the reigns as the Regional Chairman for 2021-22.

Murray lives and works on the family farm in Aberdeenshire where they have 300 breeding ewes and over winter 200 cattle along with producing 500ac spring barley, 20ac potatoes and also vegetables for the family farm shop, Thorneybank Farm Shop.

Murray commented on being elected Regional Chair: “I am incredibly honoured and humbled to have been elected as the regions’ chairman for the coming year. While there is still a great deal of uncertainty as to what this year will bring, the easing of lockdown restrictions brings with it a glimmer of hope for some semblance of normality. Clubs are being encouraged to organise a summer syllabus and events as they normally would in preparation for what we hope is a summer better than last. I am looking forward to working with the North this year.”

Elected as Murray’s Vice Chair for the year ahead is Sarah Mowat of Ross Sutherland Young Farmers, Grew up in Orkney on a beef and sheep farm, now living and working as a Farm Administrator in Easter Ross, Highlands.

Sarah commented: “I am really looking forward to the year ahead and the re-opening of events for Young Farmers. I personally have gained so much from Young Farmers, I hope I can encourage and share this with lots of other new and existing members. Delighted to support Murray in the year ahead, and being part of the whole SAYFC team in 2021/22”

The North Region Committee elected for 2021/2022:
Chair: Murray Stephen (Turriff & District), Vice Chair: Sarah Mowat (Ross Sutherland), Retiring Chair: Gemma Duguid (Bower)
East Aberdeenshire: Sally Mair, Lewis Gallier, Aimee Margrove

West Aberdeenshire: Eric Smith, Laura Sutherland, Peter Duthie, Sarah Phillips

Aberdeen & Kincardine: Alex Stephen, Steven Mann, Katie Kelly, Selina Gordon

Deveron Speyside: Gordon Kelly, Nicole Hendry, Grant Stephen,

RNI: Eilidh Sutherland (more committee to follow)

Caithness: Michael Gunn, Ben Gunn, Beth Douglas, Gemma Duguid

Orkney: Charles Copland, Jessica Rendall, Briony Harcus, Charys Harvey

Shetland: Chloe Jamieson, Erin Gibson, Sam Nicolson and Sophie Manson