New Top Team in the North Region

New Top Team in the North Region

The recent North Region Annual General Meeting saw Sally Mair of Turriff & District JAC
taking over the reigns as the Regional Chair for 2023-24 from past Chair, Sarah Mowat of Ross Sutherland JAC.

Sally works on their family farm near Turriff, focusing on pedigree and commercial breeding cattle along with breeding ewes.

Sally commented: “I am honoured to be elected as this year’s North Chair, and proudly represent our region. I have gained an enormous amount of friendships and training from Young Farmers over the years and I hope to build on this with the members throughout the year. With a full calendar of events back running last year I hope to build on these and have a fun competitive year ahead

Elected as Sally’s Vice Chair is Beth Douglas of Bower Young Farmers. Having shown a keen interest in farming from a young age helping her father show commercial cattle across the North show circuit, Beth went on to study Agriculture at Craibstone and now works at Pulteney Distillery, producing whisky.

Beth said “I have enjoyed every aspect of young farmers both competing and socialising across Scotland and I am really looking forward to working with Sally and the SAYFC team this year. I hope I can play a part in encouraging all members to get involved with as much as possible in their time in young farmers – stepping outside of your comfort zone can open the door to so many opportunities!

I am excited to see what’s in store for the North Region this year!”

The North Participation and Recruitment Award Results for 2022/23 were announced during the meeting. The Participation Award for the club with the highest participation points in North competitions throughout the year were presented as follows.

1st: Bower YFC

2nd: Forss YFC

3rd: Udny JAC


The Recruitment Award for the club with the highest percentage increase in membership from end of February 2021 to end of February 2023 were presented as follows.

1st: Ross Sutherland YFC

2nd: Nairn JAC

3rd: Mid Deeside YFC


The North Club of the Year Competition was also held recently with the placings as follows.

1st Strichen JAC

2nd Turriff & District JAC

3rd Bower YFC

Strichen JAC and Bower YFC now go forward to the national finals.

The North Region Committee elected for 2023/2024:
Chair: Sally Mair (Turriff & District JAC),  Vice Chair: Beth Douglas (Bower YFC), Retiring Chair: Sarah Mowat (Ross Sutherland YFC) North Agri & Rural Affairs Chair: Stephen Allan (Udny JAC)

Aberdeen & Kincardine: Selina Gordon, Callum Taylor, Elspeth Walker, Beth Morrison

East Aberdeenshire: Lewis Gallier, Stephen Allan, Natasha Morrison, Aimee Mowat

West Aberdeenshire: Callum Simpson, Sally Glennie, Bruce Walker, Scott Dey

Deveron & Speyside: Iona MacLeod, Brodie Bain, Abbie McGillivray, Scott Duguid

RNI: Ewan MacIver, Alice Cox, Bruce Forbes, Eilish Johnstone

Caithness: John Forbes, Euan Bremner, William Campbell

Orkney: Nicole Work, Declan Fraser, Ellis Kerr, George Low

Shetland: Erin Gibson, Aimee Budge, Nia Hunter, Ayla Leask