James Graham Crowned Stockman of the Year

James Graham Crowned Stockman of the Year

James Graham of C&C is your 2024 Stockman of the Year. The 26 year old Stirlingshire Farmer continues his family legacy in the competition, joining brother John on the coveted list of past winners. When asked about his achievement James praised his trainers, family and friends who helped him get there:

“It’s always been a lifetime ambition winning Stockman of the Year. I couldn’t have done it without a top class team and trainers behind me, it still hasn’t sunk in fully. This year, as always was a great competition with a few classes making you work harder for it, but got there in the end.”

“This competition has given me the ability to be confident in judging any breed of livestock and appreciating a good animal in any breed. I have also made life long friends competing alongside some of the best stockjudgers there is.”

It was another competitive year in the Stockmanship programme with members showing an incredibly high level of competence and knowledge across the board. The full results of the competition (kindly sponsored by Farmlay) can be found below:


STOCKMANSHIP PROGRAMME (sponsored by Farmlay)

1st and winners of the Lawrie and Symington Salver – (759) – Clyde and Central A – Jessie MacDougall, Thomas Crawford & Euan Stark

2nd Place – (753) – Ayrshire B – Scott Gray, Paul Smith & Amy Scott

3rd place – (732) – Ayrshire A – Rory Scott, Neil Hodge & Kyle Scott


1st  – (283) – Clyde and Central – Euan Stark

2nd – (271) – Ayrshire – Rory Scott

3rd –  (264) – Lanarkshire – Ben Graham


CHANG Trophy for Best Pair in the Dairy Section – (574) – Ayrshire – Andrew Struthers and Cameron McGregor

Morphie Trophy for the Best Pair in the Beef Section – (546) – Lanarkshire – Alan Lindsay and Charlie Craig

NFU Trophy for Best Pair in the Sheep Section – (510) Ayrshire – David Smith and Scott Anderson


Best Individual in Dairy Section – (288) – Ayrshire – Cameron McGregor

Best Individual in Beef Section – (281) – Lanarkshire – Jack Young

Best Individual in Sheep Section – YUILL WALKER TROPHY –  (266) – Ayrshire – Scott Anderson



1st AND WINNERS OF THE GLASGOW HERALD TROPHY – (1620) – Ayrshire A – Andrew Struthers ,Cameron McGregor, Daniel Hodge, Harry Bell ,David Smith and Scott Anderson

2nd – (1508) – Clyde and Central A – Murray Steel ,Nicole Kinloch ,Logan Ross ,Stephen Taylor  ,Andrew Morton ,James Graham

3rd – (1500) – Lanarkshire A – Mark Bryson ,Robbie Meikle ,Jane Lindsay  ,Amy Lindsay ,Amy Laird  ,Kim Laird



1st Place – (635) – James Graham, Clyde and Central

2nd – (634) – Robbie Meikle, Lanarkshire

3rd – (621) – David Smith, Ayrshire


Well done once again to all our competitors and thank you to our brilliant stewards, staff and volunteers for helping to make the show such a success. Thanks also to all our supporters and sponsors who helped us to make these competitions a reality and put Scotland’s Rural Youth in the spotlight.