Orkney Pink Make National Wink

Orkney Pink Make National Wink

On Saturday 9th December we held our National Junior Speechmaking final at Gogarburn by kind permission of The Royal Bank Of Scotland.  A big thank you must go to Murray Stephen, Lizzy Baxter and Catherine Johnston for  judging this competition, all three judges commented on how high the standard of competition was across all eight teams! A special thank you must also go to Nick Hutchon and Andrew Taylor who were our Questions Masters for the day and tested all teams with their excellent questions.


Final Results:

1st Place – Harray (pink) YFC

2nd Place – West Renfrewshire YFC

3rd Place – Mauchline YFC

Out with Winning Team Special Prizes: 

Best Chair – Max Wyllie, Mauchline YFC

Best Speaker – Ewan Simpson, West Renfrewshire YFC

Best Vote of Thanks – Ellis Caldwell, Mauchline YFC

Overall Best Individual – Ewan Simpson West Renfrewshire YFC


The National Junior Quiz final was also held on Saturday 9th December, thanks must go to Carol Brunton for compiling the quiz and testing our junior member’s knowledge and to National Vice Chair, Ally Brunton for acting as Question Master on the day. Thank you must also go to Ellen Glennie, Angela Webster, Caroline Hamilton and Linsey Campbell for  all their help through out the day stewarding and assisting where needed.


Final Quiz Results: 

1st Place – Lesmahagow YFC

2nd Place – Ayrshire District

3rd Place – East Mainland YFC

Well done to all teams taking part in both competitions and congratulations to all prize winners.